I think you may be missing a vital part of the equation Menacussecundas
---Who initiated the contact?---
Note: not who initiated the conforming involving the ‘Static’ element,
but who initiated the actual physical contact
with the ‘Static’ element.
There is a big difference.
Lets have another look at Cgd’s
diagram, and assume poor little old me has the ‘Static’ elements,
but Art-Y is replaced by a ‘Command Element’ (i.e. a CP, Lit or CWg).
My Blade-W/Blade-X group has three options (my choice):-
a) Stay where they are, and Blade-W fights as if overlapped.
b) Split the group and have Blade-W conform, and have it overlapped by enemy Blade-B.
c) Have both Blades conform as a group, and Blade-X will then be overlapped by enemy Ele-C.
The enemy initiated the conforming by moving into me, but I decide on how to respond.
Now lets see what the ‘Static’ elements could do (again, my choice):-
a) Stay where they are, and Art-Z fights as if overlapped.
b) Split the group and have Art-Z conform, and have it overlapped by enemy Ele-C.
But what I should NOT be allowed to do is to conform both my ‘Static’ elements as a group,
as then it would be me, yours truly, that is initiating the actual physical contact on ‘Static’ element-Y.
I’ll be the one that is deliberately choosing
to start the fight with the enemy, not them coming to me.
The enemy may have initiated the conforming by moving into me, but my options are limited due to
the ‘Static’ elements “no contact rule”.
Now I am fully aware that the phrases ‘initiated the combat’ and ‘letting the enemy come to the
‘Static’ elements, and not the other way round’ are not in the rule book…but then again, neither
is the phrase ‘the no contact rule can be ignored, if you wish, when conforming’.
If the bottom of page 9 had said:-
“CP, Lit, CWg, Art or WWg cannot move into ANY
contact with (the) enemy, except
then we wouldn’t be having this conversation…but it doesn’t.
The only exception given is that of a WWg Tower contacting a City, Fort or Camp. Nothing else.
Let me try looking at it another way.
The Moving Into Contact section on page 9 is composed of four paragraphs.
The first paragraph has four legal end-of-move-phase positions listed, i.e. a), b), c) and d).
So can I move my ‘Static’ elements into any of these four legal positions?
No, because the last paragraph says “CP, Lit, CWg, Art or WWg cannot move into ANY
contact with (the) enemy.”
Thus the forth bottom paragraph overrides the first paragraph, and limits the use of ‘Static’ elements.
Well, if the forth paragraph overrides the first paragraph, why doesn’t override the the other paragraphs as well?
Especially as nowhere in the rules does it say “Static elements cannot make contact, except when conforming.
That last forth paragraph isn’t going to disappear just because you have to conform and it’s not your bound.
Play by the rules, ALL of them
, and don’t miss any out. (Sorry if I’ve made all this sound complicated, but it’s really quite simple…
…‘Static’ elements cannot start a fight…the enemy has to come to them)