Moving into overlap with Psiloi Sept 16, 2020 19:18:40 GMT
Post by ronisan on Sept 16, 2020 19:18:40 GMT
No one is saying otherwise.
But contact and close combat are not the same thing.
They are two entirely separate and completely different things.
You seem to be implying that ANY kind of contact IS close combat.
Indeed, Figure 16a shows that you can still be in contact without triggering close combat.
The question is, how did the elements in Figure 16a get into that position?
Was it by a voluntary tactical move,
No ... that's not allowed! Cv A and Bow Y are in side edge to side edge contact. But you can't move the Cv A into contact with Bow Y that way!
or was it because of a combat outcome?
Probably yes, because such situations often occur during battle.
And putting myself in the shoes (or should that be the sandals?) of an ancient warrior,
I cannot think of any logical, realistic, real-life reason why a body of 500+ men could not
move into corner-to-corner or mutual side-edge contact with an unengaged enemy.
Is there some sort of invisible force field that surrounds elements that prevents any
kind of contact until this force field is switched off by first engaging them in combat?
That just doesn’t make any sense.
Figure 16a: You want to contact Bow Y with the Cv A element? ... your men elbow to elbow with the enemies??? ... Well - if the Bow Y wants to walk away having lunch ... they can do it, leaving your Cv alone on the field! Now that's a "very realistic" contacting of an enemy! ;-)
The fact is DBA uses the word ‘overlap’ to describe a particular type of contact position.
A type of contact position that doesn’t result in close combat.
Wrong ... you NEED an adjacent close combat to talk about the term "overlap"! It's a tactical factor ... tactical factors only occur in combat and shooting! It's supporting a close combat! If there is no close combat, there is no overlap!
And page 9 says: “(d) with no enemy to its front, but in an overlap” is a perfectly valid
legal end-of-move-phase position.
No ... figure 10 shows you some forbidden end-of-move-phase positions. Look at Cv C ...if you would pivot it 90 degrees to the left, it would be your "side edge to side edge contact version", which in fact is even worse than Cv C in figure 10!
So why do you keep on trying to ignore “mutual flank-edge contacts overlap each other,
whether in close combat or not”. And IF you are right, then why doesn’t the overlap rules
say: “elements can ONLY contact and overlap an enemy that is already engaged frontally”?
In close combat: "mutual flank-edge contacts overlap each other,
whether (the overlapping element is) in close combat or not”.
You are ignoring words that are there, and trying to add words that are not.
Interesting... Stevie is telling about adding words that are't there!
But you are ignoring the word "front edge" in moving into contact ... and you are ignoring the word "front edge" in turning to face a flank (your obscure flank-to-flank) contact...
All I can say is my little group of DBA players do not play it that way.
And the few tournaments I have been in don’t play it that way either.
Still, “each to their own” as they say...
No problem - stay healthy. Cheers, Ronald.