Moving across a Threat Zone - Legally?? Jan 23, 2022 13:50:03 GMT
Post by sheffmark on Jan 23, 2022 13:50:03 GMT
If in 2 threat zones, I think you can choose one of the threat zones to back away from - see diagram 7b. I agree that you can't back into a threat zone - unless you are backing out of another one.
If you're threatened (and this is a threat zone, so troops are moving towards you, close enough to threaten but not yet close enough to contact) by troops from front and flank, I think it's perfectly sensible to 'get the heck out of there' before you get hit from both sides. The rules allow you to do this and as a consequence you can legitimately back through, or out of, a flanking elements TZ. I don't think anyone would have problem with this as you are retreating from a threatening position.
I don't think diagram 7b says you can choose which TZ to back away from. In fact it says Spear A may not back out of the TZ as the move is "blocked by Spear B". It also says it "must be in a straight back without deviation" (presumably there's a word missing somewhere?) In the rules section it says the element moves back to it's own rear, so it doesn't matter from what angle to TZ is being applied, which in the case being discussed is part of the problem.
However I think Stevie is on the right lines in terms of a suggested solution.