As we all know, Page 8, Tactical Moves, last paragraph, says:- “A group move can include reducing frontage to form such a column. The leading element moves forward, then others successively join behind it, moving as if by single element moves. No element can end with its front edge further to its original rear.”
So are the following three examples legal?
Example #1 obviously is, as it’s shown in Figure 4. Example #2 appears legal, as “front-edges are not further to the rear of their original position”. Example #3 seems illegal, as “front-edges (marked in blue) are behind their original position”.
Would this be correct?
Last Edit: Feb 8, 2021 17:05:43 GMT by stevie: ...just making sure...
Assuming the elements have a 3 BW move, 2 is OK but if move is only 2 BW, I would suggest that 2 is illegal as the left front corner of element A moves too far (just over 2.5 BW). As you say, 3 is not legal.
However example #2 is legal for troops with a speed of 2 BW...wrong! ...if (like me) you have your heavy foot on 20mm deep bases. (All my heavy infantry are on bases that are ½ a BW deep, as I hate it when figures or their weapon extends over a base edge, preventing full flush front-edge contact or neat column formations)
According to old Pythagoras element ‘A’s’ left front-corner has to move 72.11mm (60mm² + 40mm ² = 72.11mm²)...measuring from starting to final position, “moving as if by tactical moves”.
Whoops!...I was wrong...Scott is right. ...I was measuring from the front-corner to the rear-corner! 🤪 (Ah, but if a couple of the elements were 30mm deep, say mounted elements, then a speed of 2 BW could do it...)
Last Edit: Feb 8, 2021 18:30:35 GMT by stevie: ...I'm glad someone is checking all this stuff!...☺
Hello Stevie, again it‘s much easier than you think. The move is a group move and according to the rules (page 8) „A group can only move forwards.“ ... and not sideways! Therefore #1 and #2 are legal moves. #3 is an illegal move, because the leading element does not move forward... half of its frontedge moves backwards! Cheers, Ronald
...although we must remember that there is one circumstance that allows a group to move sideways: Page 8, Tactical Moves:- "A group can only move forwards. No other changes in frontage, direction or facing can be made, even within a TZ, except to pivot, wheel and/or slide sideways to line up in an enemy TZ, or to conform in close combat.”
Nonetheless, you are quite right...Example #3 is illegal because:- a) part of the front-edges end-up behind their original position, b) part of the elements in the group end-up moving backwards.
They could of course move individually to end-up in a column, but only by spending more PIPs and not by making a group move.