Double ranked Pk were engaged in combat to the front with Kn in Good Going & then contacted in rear by LH They lost the combat (Beaten, not Doubled) so front rank Pk is Destroyed NOT Recoiled Is the rear rank Pk also destroyed?
Do Rear Support elements die if the front element is Destroyed even when there is no flank or rear contact?
Doesn’t this rule cover the situation? There is rear edge contact.
“An element that has an enemy front edge in contact with its side or rear edge is destroyed by recoiling, being pushed back, fleeing or being in a column whose front element is destroyed.”
Take out text not relevant
An element that has an enemy front edge in contact with its rear edge is destroyed by being in a column whose front element is destroyed.
One of the longest discussions among Phil’s helpers in the development of Dba three, was what happens to leftover elements in the column when the front rank is destroyed. Phil took the course that Alexander the great took with the Gordian knot. He just cut through it all and said they’re all destroyed.