So far, I've never used allies but now I am thinking of doing so and would appreciate some advice. Specifically, can a couple of elements from an ally line up side by side with a couple of elements of the main army or must allied elements be separate at all times? For example, Tang army III39 can have 2 x 3Bw and they can have a Central Asian Turkish ally (III11a) which can provide another 2 x 3Bw. Can the Tang 3Bw and the CAT 3Bw form a continuous line of 4? If so then, assuming the rules on range and arc are met, can a CAT bow support the fire of a Tang bow or must they shoot separately? For clarity, I am aware that, even if all these bow elements form a continuous line, they cannot move as a group.
As namgwaya says, there is no issue with bows. The minus one simply reflects increased volume of arrows rather than any complex coordinated action. Having said that, the same applies to rear and side support, which one might expect do require coordination. All that is required is that it is a" friendly" element fulfilling certain requirements (lined up, facing the same direction, in good going etc). The occasional army list imposes condition on who can support whom (guards can only support guards), but otherwise this is pretty much universal.
The only potential issue that I can see is what if you have a warband with an allied warband in rear support and an enemy element in a flanking position, and the front element is destroyed? P12, top paragraph says that an element is destroyed if it has an enemy element in front edge contact with its flank and it is in a column whose front element is destroyed. So far so good. But on page 8, tactical moves section, para 3, line 2, it says "a column is a group only one element wide". As the rear (allied) war band element cannot form group with the front element it is supporting, can it form a column (which is by definition a group), or are they just sort of standing there? And if the latter, are they destroyed? All common sense would suggest yes, but the rules might suggest no.
Post by menacussecundus on Jul 12, 2019 12:09:02 GMT
Nothing in the rules says allies can't form a group with the main army; only that they cannot move as part of a "mixed" group. ("Allied elements can only make a group move with elements of their contingent".)
In the circumstances outlined by Scott, both elements are destroyed. (Recoils being an outcome move, not a tactical move.)