No Bob...it is an error. One of many that needs correction. If you want I can pull the versions that have "inside" plus the email chains where the issue was discussed at length. I can also pull the emails where Tom and I discovered the error and tried to get Phil to change it back...but the final proof had already been set.
Further...you don"t play "within" as the rule either in DBA 3mor HoTT. Thanks goodness that HoTT corrects the textual error with a diagram.
Joe, what is the intent of an element whose side only is touching the front edge of a TZ? For example, if Element A is flanking element X on the end of a linear group (flanked/door closed, not overlapped), is element Y, in corner to corner and side to side contact with X on the opposite side of X from A, also limited by element A's Threat Zone?
I notice that no-one has answered Davidhoward’s question...so I’ll have a go.
Here Blue-M is attacking the flank of Red-1, which cannot turn-to-face as it is already in frontal contact with Blue-Y.
Red-2 is NOT in the TZ of Blue-M because page 9 “Threat Zones” says:- “An element or group which is at least partly within or whose front edge enters an enemy TZ or touches its far edge can move only (a, b, c).”
The left flank of Red-2 is not ‘within’ the Blue-M TZ (it’s only touching it). And the front-edge of Red-2 is not 'within' or ‘touching’ a TZ far edge.
Therefore, Red-2CAN hard-flank and close the door on Blue-Y.
(Note however that such a position can only come about if Red-1 scores equal. If it scored more then both Blue elements would have recoiled, and if it had scored less it would have been destroyed)
And welcome to Fanaticus Jellyrovers and Davidhoward. You might some useful guides and other stuff in the links at the bottom of this post.
Post by medievalthomas on Apr 19, 2019 17:13:38 GMT
If your touching the front edge your in but not if your just touching the side edges.
Its the intent but not the written rule.
You are welcome to spend as much time parsing the rules as you wish or you can just enforce the above rule.
The area directly in front of the front edge of a Stand is called its Zone of Control (ZOC) and restricts the movement of enemy Stands. A Stand’s ZOC extends out 1BW from its front edge and includes the front edge of the ZOC but not the side edges. So a Stand touching the front edge of a ZOC counts as in the ZOC but not a Stand touching the side edge. )
By the way I like to game not parse rules. As do my many new recruits to DBX. (If we all adopted a similar attitude I believe we would all have lots of new recruits.)