The rule seems pretty clear "An element of Knights, Cavalry, Camelry or Light Horse that uses its move to dismount is exchanged (with its front edge in the same place) for the foot type, then moves in subsequent bounds as that foot. It cannot dismount while in any contact with enemy or in an enemy Threat Zone (TZ)." 1. use tactical move to dismount 2. front edges in same place. So a group column of Kn are no longer a column of Blades (that is an important clarification from 2.0) 3. move on foot in SUBSEQUENT bounds as foot, not same bound as dismount 4. not in contact with enemy, even overlap, and not in threat zone. 5. done by element 7. stated elsewhere, no remount, so just take off the mounted element and replace with foot.
Just reinforcing what both Nangwaya and Bob have said. Here is what the rules say:-
Troop Definitions, page 3 paragraph 3 “A few army lists permit some elements to ‘dismount’, i.e. be exchanged for a foot element, but these cannot later remount. Those listed as / or // can be deployed as either the mounted type or already dismounted as the foot type; those listed as // can also dismount during the game as a complete single tactical move.”
Tactical Moves, page 8 second paragraph “An element of Knights, Cavalry, Camelry or Light Horse that uses its move to dismount is exchanged (with its front edge in the same place) for the foot type, then moves in later bounds as that foot. It cannot dismount while in any contact with enemy or in an enemy TZ.”
Multi-game Tournaments, page 13 paragraph 1 “Army composition cannot be changed between games; except that an element listed as / or // can be deployed at the start of each game as either mounted or dismounted.”
Troop Definitions and Terminology, page 31 “/”between 2 codes or prefix numbers directs that either can be used by all (not some of) those elements. If between a mounted and a foot type it directs that all, (not some of) the mounted type can be replaced by the foot type before deployment. “//” between two codes means that an element deployed as mounted can be exchanged for the dismounted element during the game, but cannot then change back.”
That's all the references I can find about dismounting in the rules.
Note that “can also dismount during the game as a complete single tactical move.” But some troops (LH, and those on a road) can make multiple tactical moves if they have enough PIP’s. So I presume these can move in one tactical move and dismount in a subsequent tactical move, or dismount in one tactical move then move in a subsequent tactical move...all within a single bound.
(Oh...later edit. LH obviously couldn't dismount in one tactical move and then move in a subsequent tactical move in a single bound, because once they dismount they are no longer LH... ...but they could if they were on and stayed on a road)