Post by macbeth on Aug 28, 2019 4:12:18 GMT
A little while ago a fellow Fanatici asked me the following question
Is it legal for a group to interpenetrate another group as a one PIP move
CCC ---> 3 element of Cv
PPP ---> 3 elements of Ps
And to be clear the gap between the two is considerably shorter than the 4BW move of Cv (lets call it 2BW to be safe) AND there is sufficient space on the other side of the group of Ps for a Cv base to fit
After the Move
On reading the interpenetration rules I see that the relevant sections refer to "An Element" NOT "An Element or Group of Elements" so I am inclined to believe that the move above cannot be accomplished as a group move - the Cv Player will need to spend 1 PIP per element he wishes to push through the Ps
Whilst it is generally frowned upon to make references to other rules sets when trying to determine an interpretation I feel that my junior years playing WRG6th and 7th back up my inclination. Bake in those days there were a number of Permitted interpenetrations and we all knew who could charge through a screen to make the surprise punch . BUT what was less well understood and came as a shock to most of my opponents who tried this trick was that in all but ONE case of the permitted interpenetrations - both sides were disordered.
In effect if you meet the conditions for an interpenetration - well and good - but it will disrupt your formation (in this case being a group).
I am putting this out to the Fanaticiverse for discussion - because it is obvious that we all enjoy a debate such at this -
Unless I receive an authoritative rebuttal of my inclination - with the subsequent inclusion of this in the FAQ then that is the way I intend to rule at Landwaster and any of the subsequent tournaments where I am the organiser