I am (usually) quite good when it comes to answering other peoples questions about the rules. Well here is a question that I cannot answer:- Do the walls of Cities and Forts block X-Ray Threat Zones?
Of course, this is not mentioned anywhere in the rule book... ...but neither is deploying in rivers, and we have to rely on the FAQ for an adjudication. The unpleasant truth is that some of the rules are missing from DBA 3.0.
Here a Blade is garrisoning a rounded Fort, 1½ x 3 BW in size. An enemy Psiloi is outside, ½ a BW from the walls, with its TZ as a dotted line. Can the Blade sally, when (technically) it must pass through the TZ?
Personally, I think that TZ’s should not pass through walls. After all, a TZ is an area where the enemy could counter-charge. How can an enemy counter-charge through a wall?
So what does the DBA community (and especially tournament organisers) think? Should the Blade, which has nothing to fear from Ps, be forever trapped inside? Or should reality and common sense prevail, and have outside TZ’s blocked by walls?
All right stevie. I'll have a go. I have been musing on this point since you posted and was about to discourse on the various rules. But then I decided to use the common sense appproach. This is how I'd like the rules to play: 1) Completely agree that TZ doesn't extend through perimeter of fort or city... but you shouldn't be able to escape if the enemy is in contact and therefore assaulting the city. You can't escape through the opposite gate if they're coming over the walls. 2) Gates can be in TZ so that exiting garrisons have to fight the waiting enemy...but not if the enemy is hiding around a corner and using TZ to make it laborious for the garrison to get into contact. Never liked geometric ploys.
If an assaulting enemy were in frontal contact with the walls (say they attacked but got a ‘no effect’ equal score), then that is the same as being in close combat, and “Tactical Moves” on page 8 says that disengaging:- “cannot be used by an element in close combat, which can break-off only by a recoil or flee outcome move.”
But in my diagram the Psiloi are ½ a BW from the wall, so neither it nor the Blade are in close combat.
Now I erroneously mentioned in my previous post that a TZ represents some sort of ‘counter-charge’ region. This is incorrect, as static troops such as WWg/Art/CP/Lit/CWg, and those behind walls, can’t move into contact. Nonetheless, they still exert a TZ, which is better perceived as a ‘Danger Zone’...they may not ’counter-charge’, but they can still shoot arrows, crossbow bolts, throw javelins, and lob rocks, so an enemy cannot just ignore them and stroll by as if they weren’t there.
Having X-Ray Threat Zones penetrating City/Fort/Camp perimeters also brings up a few other oddities. What about a road crossing a city from one gate to another...should an outside TZ have any influence on this? And the last sentence of the Figure 7d dialogue says that the garrison “is assumed to be lining the walls.” Does this mean that a TZ from an outside enemy limits any defenders to only moving straight back out of the TZ?
All these potential problems can be avoided if outside TZ’s are blocked by walls.
Of course, once the defenders are through the gate they are subject to enemy threats, limiting their choice of actions.
I think we do agree. My point about TZ and the gate is that the TZ doesn't penetrate the gate but comes into effect as soon as an element wishes to leave. No TZ penetrates the perimeter. Ever. Including silly ploys to partially protrude beyond a corner to limit movement of a sallying element.