Post by wombatdazzler on Oct 31, 2016 19:55:37 GMT
Normally if a road is on table you need to pick an edge that the road touches for deployment. If a road ends at a BUA - so does not go from an edge to an edge, can you pick any edge for deployment side?
road. 'It cannot begin or end at a waterway edge, but crosses rivers by ford or bridge. It can end at a BUA on a waterway edge. It can only cross a city from city gate to city gate. A second road must cross or join the first."
If a road enters BUA on the waterway then the invader cannot pick the other end of the road because that puts the Waterway at the defenders back. I think if the BUA is not touching a waterway and road enters it, The rule implies that the road continues through the BUA . The rule states "(The road) can end at a BUA on the waterway." Does this not mean then, it cannot end on a BUA which is not on the waterway?
So if there is no waterway, and there is a road running through a BUA, then the invader must pick the edge at either end of the road: The edge with the BUA or the edge with the open road.
Post by medievalthomas on Nov 1, 2016 21:18:31 GMT
I think BobB is correct. You still have the case of a walled city that runs off the board. A Road could end in such a city but I think its implied it comes out the other side (though off board). I think you therefore can still pick either side.
I never thought of it that way (I'm a bit slow ;D) but: as a defender, placing a road leaves only two sides to choose for the attacker and allows you a better use of the terrain... In French we would say that it's "Fourbe"