Mark, yes I have encountered this situation. You resolved it the same as we have. It’s only come up a couple of times that I can recall in my games. The light horse could stay where they are (and be overlapped) or align.
I must say I really like the Paulisper’s suggestion of not moving the second LH.
Last Edit: Oct 8, 2018 0:12:40 GMT by twrnz: Clarified my wording after reviewing
Would have been tempted to fight as if overlapped or just moved front LH into combat...couldn’t then close the door
It was Benny's move, so he moved the Cv into contact first; conforming happens straightaway (it's not entirely clear, as the rules don't specify two individual elements and conforming, but as Benny couldn't and I could, I conformed), and then the LH was able to overlap or even close the door.
I had not encountered a situation as illustrated in the photograph, but reading page 9, Moving Into contact With Enemy, there is nothing that indicates a ‘group’ must conform but an element; leaving the second LH holding its current position. I would concur with Paulisper.
The group must either conform or fight as if overlapped.
Diagram 13e is an example.
Yes, now I have my rulebook with me, I see Joe is correct and you can't detach the front LH to conform and leave the other behind in place. I would therefore not conform and fight in a column as overlapped and that way I'd ensure that the other element couldn't close the door on my flank, as he's still in the Threat Zone